Posted by: Cooking With Aldi | January 4, 2010

Snack: Carrot Cake Mini Doughnuts

The kids are usually ravenous when they get home from school and one of my resolutions this year was to start using all those miscellaneous appliances I’ve acquired over the years.  Today’s appliance is the BlinQ Mini Doughnut Maker.  It’s basically a waffle iron with doughnut shapes.  While I can’t find the booklet for it, I do remember it mentioning that you could use your favorite pancake recipes in it.  I figured I try something new, hence the Carrot Cake Doughnut.

Carrot Cake Mini Doughnuts (6 servings)

2 c. Baker’s Corner Baking Mix
1 teaspoon Spice Club ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
2 Goldhen eggs
1 cup Friendly Farms 2% milk
1 cup finely shredded carrots

Combine mix, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg.  In a measuring cup, pour one cup milk, add eggs and beat.  Stir into the dry mix until moistened.  Stir in the carrots.

About a tablespoon of the mix fix in each doughnut shape.  These bake up quickly; about two to three minutes.  The batch made 24 mini doughnuts.

The kids liked them, my husband didn’t.  I thought they were okay but needed some kind of topping or glaze.  Will have to think of something appropriate for next time.

Per Serving (4 mini doughnuts):  213 Calories; 8g Fat (32.3% calories from fat); 6g Protein; 30g Carbohydrate; 2g Dietary Fiber; 65mg Cholesterol; 513mg Sodium.  Exchanges: 1 1/2 Grain(Starch); 1/2 Lean Meat; 1/2 Vegetable; 0 Non-Fat Milk; 1 1/2 Fat.


Leave a comment

Categories